my favourite people sat on the carpet eating apple pie

The sky is still blue and it is eight thirty five pm.

At home my father tells me about playing agony uncle. He says, a girl came in weeping and pregnant, and her milk soppy boyfriend had abandoned her. So in half an hour over a cup of tea he made her laugh, arranged her finances and a flat.

Milk soppy, I asked? A milk sop, he says, and I notice white fuzzy hairs poking from his ears like cotton wool.

I think perhaps they were testing me, so I examine my aubergine bake carefully and laugh when he says milk soppy. He seems very pleased with himself. I remind myself of being six and coming home from school after French club with two sandwiches left, which I threw away in the little bin in the bathroom upstairs. I came back down the stairs slowly, and whistling, which gave me away, and I spent the rest of the day banished to my room.

On the way back I sat inexplicably in first class, which is no different to second class only they have ineffectual little yellow lights, and a woman who offers hot drinks.

Leave a comment